

2023 AGM MINUTES

20 November 2023, 4pm

Chair: Peter Lombo

Attendance: as per attendance register

Apologies: as per apologies register

Welcome

In declaring the meeting open at 4pm, the Chair welcomed all in attendance, especially Life Members and Fellows of the Association who were present. Following a welcome to country, Design Matters National sponsors were acknowledged.

Sponsor Presentations

Nikitas Smirnios from James Hardie

Design Excellence

Mr Sven Maxa from Maxa Design, who won the Building Design of the year 2023 for his "Canal Haus" project, addressed the meeting in an inspirational presentation about his successful project.

Minutes of previous AGM Meeting

The Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting, held on 10 October 2022, which had been made available on the website, were confirmed as an accurate record of the proceedings of that meeting.

Moved: Ingrid Hornung

Seconded: Jeremy Spencer

Outcome: Carried

Financials' Report

The Chair presented an overview of the financial report made available to those in attendance on registration.

The Chair spoke briefly about the organisation's healthy finances.

Overall income is up by 4% by primarily with the big contributors being increase in membership and advertising.

Overall expenses are up by 19% with the big contributor being the revival of events.

The financial report is available to view at the office by any full member, upon request.

Moved: Sven Maxa

Seconded: Griff Morris

Outcome: Carried

CEO Report

The CEO reported that DMN continues to be the peak body representing building designers and thermal performance assessors across Australia. She noted the structure of DMN's operations are more engaged with our national membership and the organization continues to grow primarily from the loyalty of our members and the expediential interest from our sponsors and partners. She commented on some of the advocacy work that DMN have been involved with this year which included being invited by the Northern Territory Department of Infrastructure, Planning and Logistics to participate in the working group to support their transition to adopt Section J Energy Efficiency provisions for all new non-residential Class 3 and Class 5-9 buildings. The CEO also reported DMN had a rare consultation with the Australian Bureau of Statistics review of the Australian and New Zealand standard classification of occupations which is the ANSCO codes. DMN also lobbied for changes regarding the classifications of Building Designers and Thermal Performance Assessors. The CEO noted DMN were invited by DELWP to participate in a stakeholder reference group to support the implementation of the environmentally sustainable development of buildings and sub-divisions, a roadmap for Victorias planning system which is being delivered by the Department of Transport and Planning. DMN also submitted a rejection to the VBA regarding the withdrawal of the Practice Note TS01 regarding charged storm water systems which was creating delays to projects.

Moving on to events for 2023, DMN have hosted over 150 events with over 2000 participants overall.

Resolutions

Victoria Walker, Jason Holmes, Christina Zigouras and Tim Veurink were elected to the Board of Directors of Design Matters National.

Kelly Partners Bendigo Partners were voted in favor to continue their position of Auditors of Design Matters National.

General Business

A call for general business was made, with no general business arising. The AGM minutes will be made available on the Design Matters National website under Resources.

Close of Formalities

The Chair then thanked all the presenters, Design Matters National staff as well as all attendees and formally declared the meeting closed at 4.50pm.

Attendance Register

Mr Salvatore Campagna

Sarah Campbell

Ms Li Chen

Mr Lindsay Douglas

Mr Josh Fraser

Mr Matthew Graham

Mr Sean Hamilton

Mr Roy Hodgson

Mr Jason Holmes

Mr Andrew Hooper

Ms Ingrid Hornung

Ms Dominique Hunter

Anita Lilford

Mr Alastair McDonald

Griff Morris

Mr Jeremy Spencer

Catherine Ciavarella

Christina Zigouras

Timothy Veurink

Peter Lombo

Sven Maxa

Peta Anderson

Nikitas Smirnios – James Hardie

Caroline Connolly (minutes)

Apologies Register

Mrs Angela McLean Mr Ashley Thompson Simon Walker Mr Ian Williamson

Mr Kan Xiao

Tristan Stanley-Cary

Debra Guilmartin

Tony Isaacs

Ian Fry

Philip Abriola

Wayne Gorman

Shay Jury

Michael Valente

Cindy Lee Angel

Russell Stork

Rob Iacono

Jennifer Edwards

Nathan Peart